DYSTOPIAN DELIGHTS – DISCUSSIONS, INTERVIEWS & REVIEWS (3)

Published September 5, 2013 by booksforbirds2013

INTRODUCTION – 

For those of you who don’t know I’ve been planning this special/feature of posts for the month of September all related to or about Dystopian fiction. There were two reasons why i decided to do this: 1) Is that I’m going back to school tomorrow and starting Year Ten, and my timetable is is soooooo full this year that I won’t be able to post as often. Though I’ll try for at least two posts every seven days. 2) It was just an idea I had that I thought would be really fun to get different people (authors, and bloggers) involved.

Even though this took a bit of planning and adjusting it was really fun and I just want to thank everyone who contributed and helped make this possible! :D

Welcome back, to another Dystopian Delights post, today I’m happy give you a the chance to read a guest post by Faye, The Bookshelf Butterfly!

The Pure Trilogy by Juliana Baggot

Whilst thinking about ideas for a dystopian theme blog post, I came to realize that I really haven’t read much dystopian fiction, even though it is a genre I really enjoy. In doing some research into dystopian novels, I’ve noticed I’m missing out on some popular reads. These include the dystopian classic 1984 by George Orwell, The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins and the Divergent series by Veronica Roth. I hang my head in bookworm shame. One series I am happy to have read however is the Pure trilogy by Julianna Baggott, which I shall talk about now.

The first book in the trilogy is Pure, which sets the scene of a world which has been devastated by Detonations and divided the population into two main groups; Pures and Wretches. Pures are a select elite community, unharmed by the Detonations as they reside in a protective Dome. Wretches are everybody else who survived, who fused to whatever they happened to be closest to at the time.

Pressia Belze, a girl with a doll’s head for a fist, lives a hard and dangerous existence and dreams of a life inside the Dome where she imagines she would be safe and cared for. Meanwhile inside the Dome, Partridge lives under a strict regime, so life inside the Dome isn’t as perfect as people think. Unknowingly bound together, fate will see it that Pressia and Partridge are destined to change the world.

In the second book, Fuse, Pressia and Partridge uncover their entwined history in a mission to save the Wretches and overthrow the Dome. Pressia is dealing with her feelings for Bradwell, a boy with birds fused to his back, whilst Partridge is discovering nasty truths about his father and has his own love problems. Fuse is even more explosive than Pure, revealing secret after secret and throwing a miasma of obstacles and dangers at the lead characters.

All the characters are so well devised and individual, with their unique burns and fusings. My favourite characters are a pair of brothers fused together, El Capitan and Helmud, whose relationship is comical at times but also extremely sad. Julianna Baggott has created a hauntingly striking world in which she explores themes of identity and society, using creative plotlines and an interesting use of science and technology. The film rights for the Pure trilogy have already been bought and I think they will make incredible viewing for the big screen.

The third book in the series, Burn, is due for publication next year and I seriously cannot wait to see how it all ends. Amazingly imaginative, with twists and turns throughout, I urge anyone who hasn’t read any of the Pure books to put them to the top of their reading list. And while I wait for Burn to be released, maybe I’ll catch up on The Hunger Games before my bookworm status is revoked!

Thanks for that Faye! I’ll definitely have to look up the Pure Trilogy.

Keep Reading,

Fionnuala xo

One comment on “DYSTOPIAN DELIGHTS – DISCUSSIONS, INTERVIEWS & REVIEWS (3)

Leave a Reply

